poem five: the fishing boats can wait (a sea shanty)

I’m using the NaPoWriMo Day 3 prompt for Day 5, because with everything going on the past few days, I’m a bit stuck. The prompt was a challenge to write a sea shanty. BUT OF COURSE I WILL!

So here’s my effort, in honour of two of my awesome friends (Emma and Jay, a sister and brother team of amazing) in North Wales, and my whole “living the pirate dream” thing. This will make sense to those who know me, but nothing to any random people stumbling across this blog, so: I’m obsessed with pirates, and when I’m near the sea I say I’m going to finally live the pirate dream, and I never do. Mostly because I’m not interested in stealing things, just sailing around on the sea, singing, drinking rum, and dressing in 17th/18th century clothing. It would be extremely liberating. Anyway, sea shanty (and yeah, we’re super classy, buying wine from Bargain Booze):

 

Three bottles of wine from Bargain Booze –
the fishing boats await!
If the captains have a snooze they lose
and a boat will go to Kate.

Three bottles of wine from Bargain Booze -
the fishing boats await!

Jay spotted a vessel, Llandudno Pier,
Em and Kate stood hushed and still.
They’d have to commandeer
the boat, or swim back home to Rhyl!

Three bottles of wine from Bargain Booze –
the fishing boats await!

And of course, the little scallywags
whose number equals five -
they’re big enough for treasure bags
But far too small to dive!

Five packets of sweets from Bargain Booze –
the fishing boats await!

We didn’t commandeer a ship
(we got the train instead),
but we bought our wine from Bargain Booze,
then woke with aching heads!

Three bottles of wine from Bargain Booze –
The fishing boats can wait!

 

 

*I was also inspired by Drunken Sailor – Irish Rovers, Why is the Rum Gone? Remix, and The Wild Rover – Dropkick Murphys. Last two aren’t really sea shanties, but they helped. There is a common theme …

Leave a Reply

